Stay informed on history, the latest updates, news, and local San Francisco culture from the Inn at the Presidio.
In this part of the blog we will highlight historical facts about the Inn along with stories about the buildings and districts of the Presidio.
The Presidio has housed a great many men and women during its time as a military enclave. The Inn itself, once known as Pershing Hall (named after General John Pershing) was built in 1903 and was separated into three sections as a fire precaution. When we opened our doors as an Inn, we decided to keep the tradition of honoring noteworthy individuals alive by naming each wing after a general who has served here. Below is a brief look into the lives of three men and how they have made their mark on the history of the Presidio.
From the adobe structures, still in tact from the time Spain claimed this outpost as their own, to the rows of brick military buildings built in the mid-1800‘s by the United States Army, the Presidio has always been able to maintain a strong connection to its own history.
The Inn at the Presidio, built in 1903 was originally the Bachelor Officer’s Quarters (BOQ). Three years ago, it was decided that this building should be re-purposed into an Inn so that guests from all over the world would have the opportunity to stay inside the park and experience a slice of history themselves. Although many modern upgrades were necessary to make the building once again habitable, much effort was taken to honor the history of the building and its surroundings. Here are just a few examples of how the Inn kept a bit of history in tact inside and outside of our own four walls.